PBS: The American Experience
Surviving the Dust Bowl
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/dustbowl/
The Great Depression
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/dustbowl/peopleevents/pandeAMEX05.html
Riding the Rails
- The Film & More: Use the transcript of the movie to obtain direct quotes.
- Special Features contains Tales from the Rails with stores from 7 teenage hobos; Striking a Chord with hobo songs (some lyrics and sound); Added Obstacles with stories from African American hobos who faced greater challenges and difficulties
- Timeline: The timeline of the Great Depression by years-1929 to 1932, 1933 to 1935, 1936 to 1940-with brief text and photos
- Maps: Railroad map showing riding the rails.
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/rails/
PBS: Freedom: A HISTORY of US
Note: Click on the camera icon for images–photos, documents, and more!
Webisode 12: Depression and War. Segment 1
Crash
http://www.pbs.org/wnet/historyofus/web12/segment1.html
Webisode 12: Depression and War. Segment 2
Down and Out
http://www.pbs.org/wnet/historyofus/web12/segment2.html
Webisode 12: Depression and War. Segment 3
The New Deal
http://www.pbs.org/wnet/historyofus/web12/segment3.html
EyeWitness to History.com
20th Century (timeline with articles)
Look for years of the Great Depression and then look in each article for primary sources (photographs, quotes and first hand stories)
http://www.eyewitnesstohistory.com/20frm.htm
Library of Congress: American Memory
African American Odyssey
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aaohtml/aohome.html
The Harlem Renaissance and the Flowering of Creativity
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aaohtml/exhibit/aopart7b.html
The Depression, The New Deal, and World War II
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aaohtml/exhibit/aopart8.html
Franklin D. Roosevelt, Presidential Library and Museum
http://www.fdrlibrary.marist.edu/
The National Archives
A New Deal for the Arts
Discusses the use of federal tax dollars to support the arts. Includes information on artist, their artwork and photographs.
- Rediscovering America: Addressing National Identity
- Celebrating “the People”: A reflection on every day life and people facing difficult circumstances.
- Work Pays America: New deal artists
- Activist Arts: Political Artist showing labor and politics.
- Useful Arts: Various artists who pursued art as a vocation.
http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/new_deal_for_the_arts/
The Great Depression and the New Deal
Text and photos. Some photos contain quotes.
http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/picturing_the_century/galleries/greatdep.html#
Britannica Online Encyclopedia
The Great Depression
http://http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/243118/Great-Depression/
Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute (FERI)
New Deal Network
http://newdeal.feri.org/permissions.cfm
Indiana University Southeast
Great Depression and the New Deal (Submitted by Tammi L.)
A list of links to resources. Note: Not all links work and some are not primary sources, so use carefully.
http://homepages.ius.edu/Special/OralHistory/GreatDepression2.htm
Yale-New Haven Teachers Institute
The Great Depression (Submitted by Tammi L.)
Curriculum unit cosisting of text broken into sections including a Resource List and a suggested reading list and Bibliography for Students.
http://www.yale.edu/ynhti/curriculum/units/1998/4/98.04.04.x.html#j
Audio
Whitworth University Archives
Civilian Conservation Corps in the Northwest
Covers the Great Depression and the CCC. The site includes brief text and audio files created consisting of a narrator with inserted primary sound bytes.
http://www.whitworth.edu/Library/Archives/CurrentProjects/CCC/
Franklin D. Roosevelt, Presidential Library and Museum
Audio Clips (to download)
http://www.fdrlibrary.marist.edu/audio.html
Graphics
PBS: Freedom: A HISTORY of US
Image Browser
Choose a time period form the drop down menu at the top to view photos.
http://www.pbs.org/wnet/historyofus/tools/search_ph.html
Library of Congress:American Memory
America from the Great Depression to World War II
Black and White Photographs from the Farm Security Administration-Office of War Information Collection
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/fsahtml/fahome.html
Color Photographs from the Farm Security Administration-Office of War Information Collection
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/fsachtml/fsowhome.html
Niskayuna High School
FDR Cartoon Archive
Political Cartoons from the time of Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Presidency and his Inaugural Addresses.
http://www.nisk.k12.ny.us/fdr/
Franklin D. Roosevelt, Presidential Library and Museum
Online Photos:
http://www.fdrlibrary.marist.edu/photos.html
The National Archives
Picturing the Century: One Hundred Years of Photography from the National Archives
http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/picturing_the_century/home.html
